Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
Hitachi 60FX32B self inflicted issue with no audio or video    

Bigfoot

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:40 pm    Post subject: Hitachi 60FX32B self inflicted issue with no audio or video Reply with quote

Hi Guys,

I had a convergence problem on this set and decided to replace the convergence IC's. The TV worked (although in a 3D way) prior to my swapping out the IC's. I am a service technician and have fair soldering skills, but be that as it may, I still have a TV that upon power up does nothing. There is no display or audio. There are five green LED's illuminated and not flashing- I believe the power is good. There is also a Red LED labeled "protect" that may be pointing me in a direction, but I do not know where.

Can someone assist me with troubleshooting this?

Much thanks!
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

Bigfoot

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:36 am    Post subject: additional information Reply with quote

Upon further investigation, I found fuse F906 blown. It is a 1.6a fuse. I replaced the fuse and upon power up, it immediatly blew again.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
John
kuhurdler

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check your solder splashes around the ICs. If it was working before, something you did had to have changed that.
Bigfoot

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've checked and found a short between pins 8 and 9 on IC K05. i unsoldered the pins and the chip is not shorted, it is the socket points that are shorted. I am getting ready to dig deeper, but could sure use some guidance...

Thanks!
Bigfoot

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, after pulling up the prints, it appears pin 8 and 9 should be shorted, they are both +26V...

Back to the drawing board...

On another topic, how do you upload an image/picture?

Thanks