Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
LG 42PX12X LOUD Popping Sound then no picture    

sdcovington

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:56 pm    Post subject: LG 42PX12X LOUD Popping Sound then no picture Reply with quote

Our LG 42PX12X made a loud popping sound yesterday morning, then the picture is gone... no TV menu, nothing. We can hear audio and change channels but no picture whatsoever.

After reading some other posts, it sounds like a Ysus, Xsus, control board, etc... I'm a layman to TV repair but I'm opening it tonight to see what I can find. I've built/repaired PC's so I'm hoping I can hold my own in the TV repair world :)

1) What should I look for to tell which board went out?

2) Where are the boards located to know which is which?

3) Do you have any suggestions on which would most likely be the issue?

Thanks so much for any help you can provide...
Google

PostPost subject: Advertisement

sdcovington

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:25 pm    Post subject: Control Board Reply with quote

In looking at the service manual, it sounds like if there's no picture at all it's the control board that is bad... can someone verify this? PLEASE HELP! Thanks
Jesse Mack

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not a good idea to guess as all it usually does is cost you money.

That being said. Do this.

On the power supply pcb. (this is the large board with all of the transformers, very large capacitors usually found in the middle top of the chassis) on the left sedge there will be a large connectors (P8011) with printing on the board indicating what is supposed to be on the individual pins. They will be VS, VY, VA etc. The voltage range will be anywhere from -200VDC to +200 VDC and what the level is supposed to be will be printed on a sticker that is on the panel itself.