Riddled TV Repair Forum
Service Menu and Manual Schematics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
RCA 50" DLP M50WH74SYX1 Burn marks?    

Pmunky

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:34 am    Post subject: RCA 50" DLP M50WH74SYX1 Burn marks? Reply with quote

Hi I searched on the forums for issues like this but could not find any so I am posting what I think maybe unique.

Ok a little background story. I have a RCA 50" DLP TV Model:M50WH74SYX1 about a year of ownership I started having an issue with the TV loosing picture but keeping sound and the power cycling itself, after about an hour of use(after searching I find that to be a common issue). I'm no TV tech but I work on computers for a living so I thought it sounded like a thermal issue. If I place a fan behind the set it will stay on all day with no issues. Take the fan away and set will lose picture and so on. So the set was still under manufacturing warranty. Called them, told them the issues. After the first 3 service calls the set was still not working correctly. I believe only the bulb, the main board, and one other part(not the color wheel I am sure of that) has been replaced with still no resolve. So I just said screw it and used the TV with the fan for another year. I final decided to get the set repaired. I bought an extended warranty for the set at time of purchase through GE. NOW the story gets good. They send this guy to take a look at the set. He is telling me it could be the color wheel or a thermal sensor\fan issue. While is at my house to just take a look cause he has no parts with him. He decides to clean the set with compressed air. I had my back turned and started to walk away when a heard BOOM(not a whoosh). He was using the compressed air duster while the set was on! My first thought was the bulb blew and now there is mercury in the air. I made sure the TV guy was ok and told him to get out from behind the TV and come out side with me(not sure why I had to tell him that tho he should have kn